10
Jul
09

Did she REALLY just say that??

Holy freaking crap. Check out what Supreme Court Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg had to say about Roe v. Wade.

Her comments will appear in a forthcoming edition of The New York Times.

“… populations that we don’t want to have too many of…”

Absolutely chilling…

Click here for the story.

12 Responses to “Did she REALLY just say that??”


  1. July 11, 2009 at 6:56 pm

    She has to be losing her mind…really.

  2. 2 Gary
    July 13, 2009 at 2:12 pm

    Preemptive war is a much better form of population control. Plus, we can do it in the name of patriotism!!

  3. 4 Gary
    July 15, 2009 at 9:50 am

    If that were true, than any country could justify the invasion of any other country by claiming some sort of predicted self-defense. I think you might be thinking of harming me, so I’m going to beat you to the punch. I’ve got no evidence and you don’t stand any realistic chance of harming me, but still I’m going to strike first. Not to mention the many many avenues never explored that could have acheived the same goal without in invasion and saved tens of thousands of lives. Sadaam justified invading Kuwait, Russia justified going into Georgia, Hitler into Poland, and they all felt they had legitimate reasons — self-defense.

    But anyway, Dave Chappelle did a suprise show here in Pioneer Square last night around midnight! The whole thing was announced via Twitter and Facebook only, no other PR. They say around 2,000 people showed up. As much as I want to defy Twitter (I’m not really sure what it is), I think it is creeping into everyday life and I see myself being involved in the future.

    • July 15, 2009 at 10:26 pm

      If we have reached the point that we’re equivocating the leadership of the United States with the likes of Hussein, Putin, Stalin, or Hitler, then I fear we are running precariously short on philosophical common ground.

      Define “realistic chance?” Percentage wise, flying a couple of planes into some skyscrapers to kill a few hundred to a few thousand people is a drop in the bucket, but I’d be damned if I’d let it happen again if I was in a position to try to prevent it.

      I think our main point of contention, and one that we’ll never be able to concede to the other, is whether we acted with “no evidence” in an irresponsible way toward Iraq, Afghanistan, etc.. I maintain that we did the right thing, and I know that you’d argue four-square against that.

      And when did Chappelle get out of rehab/reprogramming/whatever it was?

  4. 6 Gary
    July 16, 2009 at 8:29 am

    I think he’s been doing stuff like this since his fallout with Comedy Central. I think it’s sort of a tradition among comedians to show up at comic clubs unannounced, but I think this will catch on. Springstein (spelling?) has performed in airports before while waiting for his flight. I think artists might start spreading the word and just showing up on street corners. What does this have to do with anything? I don’t know. Sorry, I’m bored at work, handing over all my responsibilities before I leave to create a smooth transition has left me with little to do over these last few weeks.
    Congratualions on your new job!! Time to invite some amigos over for a fun moving party!!

  5. 7 Gary Gray
    August 3, 2009 at 9:38 am

    I totally missed my point. Point is that Bush invading Iraq is absolutely chilling. He is responsible for more deaths of more innocent humans than any abortion doctor on this planet. Did it prevent deaths? Would more Americans have died if we had not invaded? That’s absurd. There’s no evidence for it. Ironically, some people voted for Bush because he was considered pro-life. With his support of the death penalty and his destructive foreign ventures, he turned out to be anti-life.

    The thought of families destroyed, the human beings tortured, left disabled, and lives torn apart, that is chilling. Those are things that happened. That is horrible. Had a 3rd world dictator behaved the same way and invaded a country, he would be called a war criminal. We would say things like he “ordered the deaths of thousands.” It’s not okay when it’s done under the cloak of flag and cross. It’s still wrong.

    • August 6, 2009 at 10:28 pm

      You’re right. We should have just let the son of a bitch who ran the place before we got there continue to destroy families, torture and maim dissidents, and tear lives apart for us. Good call, bro.

  6. 9 Gary Gray
    August 17, 2009 at 5:57 pm

    Funny, if he’d let the Bush family make money from his oil, we would have supported all of his actions. Saudi Arabia has a horrible record on human rights, but it’s cool, they make the Bush family very wealthy.

    This is a timeless issue. Peace will always be a controversial stand to take. But I’ll never be bullied by others anger, fear, religion, and their patriotism. It was never said better than it was here…

  7. 11 Gary Gray
    August 18, 2009 at 4:48 pm

    Sorry, I’ll stop harassing you and picking fights. Orientation begins tomorrow and I need to stay off this internet!! Hope the move is going well. After this semester, I promise to post something really irritating…promise.


Leave a Reply

The random musings of a 30-something, West Texas high-school science teacher. Hoo-RAY.
July 2009
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

categories

This crappy blog has been viewed by

  • 50,303 unsuspecting monkeys.

