11
Feb
09

Plainview, Texas – “You’ll go NUTS over us!”

Why is it that when I find myself (almost) the subject of notoriety, it’s always something that’s cast in such a rotten light?

First it was the Lockney ISD mandatory student drug testing thing.  The resulting lawsuit and media hoopla (we even merited a PBS documentary — no foolin’) overshadowed an otherwise pleasant first year of teaching, waaaaaay back in 1999-2000.

Last month, said school burned down, the alleged results of alleged arsonists with alleged teen angst that allegedly got WAY out of hand.   (For the record, I love both of the alleged girls dearly… and I wish I could express to both of them how much I and others are hurting for them.  I hope I allegedly get to do so in the alleged future.)

And now our local peanut plant has put my town in the national spotlight, because YES it’s owned by the same idiots who own the Blakeley, Georgia plant that has been at the root of (so far) over 600 salmonella poisonings and 8 deaths, and YES it hasn’t been inspected by health inspectors since it opened about 5 years ago, and YES an independent test confirmed the presence of the bacterium here too…

But come ON, folks… let’s not drown in all this negative press.  I think the hometown of Jimmy Dean and Jim Clark deserves a better legacy than THIS one.  Let’s pull out the big guns.  Let’s ignite the passions and imaginations of Hometown America and the entire free world.

I’m all for an aggressive bumper sticker campaign.

Maybe it could say something like, “PLAINVIEW:  It Could Be WORSE — You COULD Be Living In Blakeley, Georgia”

I’m open to more bumper sticker suggestions in the comment section.  Go nuts.

2 Responses to “Plainview, Texas – “You’ll go NUTS over us!””


  1. February 12, 2009 at 11:25 am

    I am going to try to avoid any fame for my life. These days the events that get attention are rarely ever GOOD things and I am going to avoid the bad things…or at least try.

    ___________________________________________________________________

    It has been my experience that fame usually finds YOU, rather than you seeking it. (Unless you’re Paris Hilton.)

  2. 2 Gary Gray
    February 17, 2009 at 5:53 pm

    Plainview: Hurricane free since 1845.

    ______________________________________________________________________

    Tornadoes, on the other hand… :mrgreen:


Leave a Reply

The random musings of a 30-something, West Texas high-school science teacher. Hoo-RAY.
February 2009
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

categories

This crappy blog has been viewed by

  • 50,365 unsuspecting monkeys.

