21
Oct
08

Forgive me, mighty geek gods!

My God... what have I done?

"My God... what have I done?"

I deleted my Ubuntu partition this morning, and gave the space back to Vista.  There are a whole host of reasons I did this, most of which I don’t care to go into detail about here.  But it’s done.

I really, REALLY like Ubuntu, and some day soon I’ll switch over completely from Windows.

For now though, I’ll just run with the rest of the sheep.  Baa, I say.  Baa.

Here’s how I did it. Fortunately, I already had EasyBCD installed, so restoring the Vista bootloader was a breeze.

I hope I can sleep tonight.

4 Responses to “Forgive me, mighty geek gods!”


  1. 1 Tyler
    October 21, 2008 at 7:31 am

    I am saddened today . . . I received troubling news on two fronts. One Colin Powell endorsed Obama yesterday AND my brother-in-law deleted his linux partition. What is this world coming to?

    ____________________________________________________________________________________

    And what exactly IS a “handbasket,” anyway?

  2. October 21, 2008 at 1:56 pm

    I have no concept of anything you are talking about. You are indeed at a level of geekness I could never achieve!

    ___________________________________________________________________________

    Sadly, I’m not HALF the geek I used to be. I’m just a shell… a sad, pencil-necked shell.

  3. 3 tony downing
    October 21, 2008 at 3:14 pm

    Alec Guinness is troubled that he built a good bridge over the Kwai River for the enemy.

    ______________________________________________________________________________

    Yes, and I’m having a hard time working that into a suitable computer-geek metaphor. Any suggestions would be well appreciated.

  4. October 22, 2008 at 3:05 pm

    Alec Guinness, an officer in the movie, was so efficient that he was inefficient. The enlisted men, like William Holden, knew it was a mistake to build a good bridge, since they were closer to the reality of the situation: a good bridge will only help the enemy move his stuff around. From atop his perch, within his ivory tower, Guinness saw less. When he came down and mingled with the ordinary Joe, he saw more.


Leave a Reply

The random musings of a 30-something, West Texas high-school science teacher. Hoo-RAY.
October 2008
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

categories

This crappy blog has been viewed by

  • 50,303 unsuspecting monkeys.

