12
Oct
08

Trust Fall

I have decided that life is entirely too short to waste any more of it worrying about who might win the presidential election, or what the economy is going to do.

Simply put, God is my financial advisor, my employer, and the guy in charge of my country, world, and universe.  He’s never failed to take care of me or my family.  He got me into the job where he wants me to be, and has (more than once) prevented me from getting a job which I would have likely ended up resenting.  He founded and has used this country to spread his compassion, justice, and freedom, and has stuck with it through much tougher economic times, and much stupider presidents and candidates.

And frankly, the worst case scenario is that I lose my job, my house, my rights, and my life.  Big whoop compared to eternity, and the rewards that wait for me there.

The biggest potential enemy to my peace of mind is ME.  So screw that.  I will NOT drive myself crazy worrying about things I can’t change.

God will still be God.  Money or no money.  Gas or no gas.  McCain or Obama.  USA or no USA.

I don’t know how athiests cope, to be honest with you.

5 Responses to “Trust Fall”


  1. 1 Josh Maxwell
    October 12, 2008 at 10:32 pm

    Thanks for posting the article, was certainly a great read!

  2. October 13, 2008 at 1:53 pm

    I couldn’t have said it better myself.

  3. October 13, 2008 at 7:36 pm

    You have woken me up from my slumber. A lot of people have lived in a more dire situations than we find ourselves in at this time. Well said.

  4. 4 Gary
    October 16, 2008 at 11:35 am

    How I Cope…
    I am not concerned with the financial market, Republicans or Democrats, bull markets or bear markets, or Palin or Fey. If I lose my home and all of my money I would be okay. I have friends and family that love me and some of them I love in return. I know people who have supported me when I didn’t deserve it and experiencing those people during those times is amazing. It provides me with a peace of mind and strong hope for the future in a world full of people who are capable of so much compassion.
    However, I am concerned about the well-being of the current world, specifically, the quality of life of human beings all over the globe. I do worry about the future of this world. I don’t believe there is an after life. I may be wrong and I may be right, no one can honestly say for sure. (Of course some are subjectively certain that they are right and no one can argue with that. When you ‘feel’ that you are right beyond any shadow of doubt, then you are right. Some Atheists, Buddhists, Hindus, Muslims, and Christians are all right…just ask them.)
    So what am I doing on this blog? I loved the last line, “how do atheists cope?” Just like everyone else. I am a happy person, full of love and joy and hope. By not believing that there’s an after life, I must concern myself with This Life. It is of the utmost importance. I won’t blow myself up for an eternal reward, or justify wars by saying it’s been predicted in the Bible. I think we can have a peaceful world, one that doesn’t end in a fiery inferno with believers carried off in white chariots and the rest of us burned for eternity.
    I have been in many churches and heard how non-believers are unhappy, lost, not at peace, and destined for hell. I think it’s sad. I don’t have to believe in an eternal reward to live a moral and happy life. I live a moral life because I think it’s the right thing to do, not because I think I will be in heaven one day. If there’s no reward,then that’s fine with me. I may be wrong, other’s may be right. We could ALL be wrong, we could ALL be right. I have to act according to my honest investigations of this world and my experiences. I believe that believers in the Bible and the Koran can live full and happy lives just as I do and I’ve never wondered how they cope by not being like me?
    Perhaps it’s the political climate that has me committing such acts as these. I smell elections and football in this fall breeze and it makes me itchy and strange and perhaps I’ve crossed the line and offended someone, but that was not my intention. Other than football, religion is my favorite rant. My favorite team is of course the Saints, that sorry excuse for an NFL franchise. If I believed in Satan I would sell Tom Benson’s soul for a Super Bowl win, not just a trip, a lame visit to the field where we’re pointed and laughed at, but a dominating defeat of an AFC titan.
    And now I must go. I will refrain from this blog, I don’t fit in here and I can feel the stares. Sorry for the intrusion.

    …what say you Billy?

    You may be right
    I may be crazy
    But it just may be a lunatic you’re looking for
    Turn out the light
    Don’t try to save me
    You may be wrong for all I know
    But you may be right

    ________________________________________________________________________________

    To be a Saints fan takes more faith than most people I know possess.

    I know I’m not going to change your mind with words, actions, or heartfelt pleas. I see the chaos in this world… the unspeakable things that mankind is capable of inflicting on themselves and each other… and I can’t bring myself to put my faith in the supposed innate goodness of the human race. We have a lousy track record so far, and I have no reason to believe that will change in the near or far future.

    If all I have to work for is a lost cause (the betterment of man,) then I might as well throw in the towel now and be done with it. Amorphous-Possibly-Existing-Entity knows that I’ve caused more hurt than help these 31 years.

    If there’s nothing beyond this world or this life, then the sooner I eat a bullet the better.

    I apologize for offending if I have done so. Sorry if that comes off as all-or-nothing closed-mindedness. But in my experience, the “every opinion is equally correct” line of reasoning isn’t worth the cattle-dung I’d have to fish it out of.

  5. 5 Gary
    October 16, 2008 at 4:13 pm

    First of all, I don’t think every opinion is correct by any means. There is a correct one but I can’t claim to posses it. I’m also afraid that humans aren’t innately good or bad. We have to make ourselves better and make our world better. Second, you haven’t offended me a bit. I love all of this, really. Second…31 years? Is that right? Hahahaha, getting old you are. Take care,

    gary

    _______________________________________________________________________________

    You’re not that far behind me, Yoda. :mrgreen:

    You’re always welcome here, BTW. I deeply envy Rebekah and the kid for their upcoming trip up your way.

    Take care (or take two, they’re small,) — JC


Leave a Reply

The random musings of a 30-something, West Texas high-school science teacher. Hoo-RAY.
October 2008
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

categories

This crappy blog has been viewed by

  • 50,365 unsuspecting monkeys.

