07
Sep
08

Community — Day 1

Since God so loved us, we also ought to love one another. (1 John 4:11, NIV)

Loving others is counter-intuitive.  Our natural tendencies run toward self: self-preservation, self-discovery, self-promotion, self-reliance, etc..

God IS love, and love is the wholly unnatural act of putting others before self.  Therefore, becoming Christ-like is accomplished by actively training one’s self to love others.

To do this, WE NEED OTHERS.  Simply meditating on love is useless.  It must be practiced in order to be real.  I cannot attempt to obtain the mind and heart of my creator unless I purposely inconvenience myself in favor of those God has put around me.

I often find that despite my best of intentions, I fail the tests of love set before me more often than not.  It’s easier to blame my general shy nature than it is to look my self-centeredness in the eye and call it what it is.  I am my own biggest obstacle to becoming who I am ultimately meant to be.

In three days I will be leading a small group in conjunction with our church’s 40 Days of Community campaign.  Have I stepped far enough outside my own comfort zone and really invited everyone who I needed to?  I don’t think so.  I feel much too comfortable right now.

Lord, help me to be bold when I need to be bold, quiet when I need to be quiet, and submissive and willing when you say “go.”

0 Responses to “Community — Day 1”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

The random musings of a 30-something, West Texas high-school science teacher. Hoo-RAY.
September 2008
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

categories

This crappy blog has been viewed by

  • 50,303 unsuspecting monkeys.

