09
Nov
07

Slump…

I’m in one.

I don’t know.  Maybe it’s just nagging health issues in the family.  Maybe it’s low morale here at work.  Maybe I just need more exercise.  Whatever it is, I can feel it dragging me down.

For the first time that I can remember, work just isn’t… fun.  That frightens me a little bit.  It seems like the paperwork and the bureaucratic nonsense, as well as the uncertainty of funds and last year’s low TAKS scores, has just drained all the joy out of the profession.

Maybe I just need an enema.  Maybe it’s Maybelline.

This is certain: something has to changeAnd soon.

2 Responses to “Slump…”


  1. 1 kristy
    November 10, 2007 at 12:45 pm

    I think i have been where you are – i suspect we all go through this at some point. Feeling frustrated, discouraged, in a rut, beaten down, pummelled a bit – oh God why is this happening – am i doing everything wrong…
    Last year was tough – our scores were low, and whether it was intended or not, we were made to feel like failures. I felt like a failure – and all this at the same time I’m feeling like I’m in a rut teaching. I finally have been at the same school long enough to really get a handle on what I’m doing – and then I realize that I’m running in a groove – jumping through hoops – doing the same things and not really paying attention to my students. I got so busy being busy and so tired of being tired that I lost track of God. I’m not sure which happened first, probably the busyness – being choked by the weeds of the world – started the whole cycle. I didn’t even realize how dark everything felt for a long time. Thanks be to God who hangs on to us even when we let go of Him.
    As a teacher, I started praying again for my students – bit by bit – it gets better. They are why I teach. I also started rethinking how I’m teaching – rewriting units, learning new practices, whatever worked. As for me – well, we’re still working – or rather, HE is still working. It’s so easy to let myself stress and worry about all the things I’m supposed to take care of and all the ways I’m not perfect. It’s way to easy to just give up – it helps to read philippians a lot 🙂
    We get to live abundant lives – and I really think abundant means we have BIG ups and downs. It will get better, and worse, and better – fun, huh?
    On a lighter note – I’m partial to Sadie Kristine. My birthday is, after all, March 17 😉

  2. 2 johnseeking
    November 11, 2007 at 9:51 pm

    Kristy, thank you so much. You hit several nails on their respective heads.


Leave a Reply

The random musings of a 30-something, West Texas high-school science teacher. Hoo-RAY.
November 2007
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

categories

This crappy blog has been viewed by

  • 50,338 unsuspecting monkeys.

