10
Oct
07

Study hard, win video games!

There is no such thing as useless knowledge.

Last night I found myself downloading two free games: Half-Life 2 and H-L 2, Episode 1. I got them by writing a haiku:

“Jolly Roger” by johnseeking

buy the game again
black box isn’t coming out
corporate piracy

Yeah, it’s not that good. But apparently, not enough people at the forum where I posted it either cared to win the prize, OR not enough people felt like they knew enough about haiku to write one. Good lord… it’s haiku, for pete’s sake. Anybody can do it.

I once had a haiku duel with a student. We filled an entire whiteboard with smack-talk in the form of haiku. I claimed victory, because the lad finally added one too many syllables in his last entry.

Knowledge IS power, kids. And by “power,” I mean it can net you lots of swag.

Woo-hoo.

(I once found a web page filled with haiku about CornNuts, no lie. Amazing. Can’t find it now, though. Sad day.)

3 Responses to “Study hard, win video games!”


  1. October 13, 2007 at 3:59 am

    Huh… I didn’t even see this contest! >_<

    PS. I got Orange Box for my Birthday, soo… huzzah!

  2. 2 johnseeking
    October 13, 2007 at 7:45 am

    I’m not sure why I didn’t pick this game up back in ’04 when it first came out. It’s bloody amazing. I have to make sure that I’m alone when I play it, on account of my constant swearing/screaming like a little girl anytime something jumps out to get me. Also, I find myself trying to scoot away from the screen when the headcrabs come for me…

    And I’ve only just begun… I’m on a swamp-buggy type thing racing through canals and dodging bullets, rockets, and whatever else these jerks keep lobbing at me.

    Favorite detail so far… I love to open a door, toss in a grenade, close the door, and listen outside as a robotic voice yells out “Grenade!” Followed quickly by several flatline sounds from dead combine troops. Priceless.

  3. November 17, 2007 at 8:47 pm

    Hey Worms,

    We’ve got a little homage to CornNut comsumption by members of the fairer sex going on over at http://www.hotgirlseatingcornnuts.com. Stop by and take a look when you have a minute to be amused.

    I’d love to see the CornNut haiku page. Let us know if you ever are able to come across it again.

    Best.

    Mike


Leave a Reply

The random musings of a 30-something, West Texas high-school science teacher. Hoo-RAY.
October 2007
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

categories

This crappy blog has been viewed by

  • 50,365 unsuspecting monkeys.

